Blog

I Am Where I Need To Be…

win_20161209_08_21_46_proThis morning before work, I am sitting at the kitchen table with snow around the house. Everywhere I look, I see an endless blanket of white and I can’t help but feel so incredibly peaceful. And I hate snow.

Lately, I have been giving a lot of thought to why I am here and to what I should be doing with my life. Sitting here with a cup of coffee in my hand, I can’t help but feel incredibly grateful for the opportunities given me. I have a chance to advance in my workplace, I have a chance to make people happy every single day I work. I have the most amazing wife a man could ask for, I have a child who’s face brightens up my day. Sure, there’s areas of my life that need to be stepped up on, but on the whole, I’d say I’m a pretty lucky guy.

Yesterday, I had a chance to wait on a family of three. One of them was clearly afflicted with Down’s Syndrome, but was functioning very well. He seemed to have that boisterous and happy outlook that comes from the syndrome. I couldn’t have cared less about it. But, the kid came up to me with his family and said, “Hello! My name’s Tyler.” I replied, “Hey buddy, my name’s John.” And he looked me in the eye and shook my hand. Most adults I know won’t even do this. Then he paused, with this really thoughtful look on his face and said, “I like you. You seem like a nice guy.” I smiled and showed them to their table.

I found out it was his birthday, and I was determined to make return guests out of these guys. The older female had never entered a Primanti’s before, so I went through the whole spiel. Tyler knew exactly what he wanted, so I took their order and got to work. Then I found out it was his birthday the next day (today) and that it was his 21st birthday to boot. So, I got him a brownie sundae on the house, checking covertly with his sister, to make sure he actually liked chocolate.

The look on his face when I brought that bowl of carbs to him made me so incredibly happy. After they were done, I cleared their table and hung out with them a bit. Before they left, Tyler gave me a hug and shook my hand again. I told him not to party too hard on his birthday and everyone laughed.

This was one of those experiences that make you so incredibly happy that you’ve chosen the profession you did. I could have been anything, ANYTHING. Lord knows I have the intellect for just about any kind of field I ever wanted. But I’m so happy doing what I’m doing. Sure, there are times that the job sucks shit through a straw. There are times I want to lock the doors and set the building on fire (not really), and grab a lawn chair with a bag of marshmallows. But, it’s days like this that really make me happy that I do what I do.

I’m a server, and I take the job pretty seriously. It’s not just a way to make money. I have a job who’s very nature is to make people happy. Any trained monkey can bring food to a table. I take pride in making people happy. In a normal week, I have one disgruntled table (it’s usually a toss up as to whether or not it’s my fault), in an average day, I have one table that had a ho-hum experience, but the rest of them can’t complain that they got anything but specific, fast and cheerful service. n the whole, I tend to win WAY more than I lose.

I love my job. Now, if I could just find time to balance my family life…

Standard

Leave a Reply

