Don’t You?

“Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it.” – Mark Twain

I have a problem this morning. It manifests itself in my thoughts and quite simply won’t give me a moment’s peace as I sit here writing this, sipping my morning cup of coffee. The snow falls outside and although it is very picturesque, does nothing to stop this feeling in my mind.

Do you remember as a kid, standing at your seat when they called for the pledge of allegiance? Do you remember how proud you were of your country, and although you couldn’t fully understand the totality of what you were pledging, you felt that you were part of something. You believed…

Watching President Obama’s State of the Union address yesterday (I watched the YouTube version, I was indisposed at the time of the actual broadcast), something shifted in my mind. As I lay in bed, I desperately tried to make heads or tails of what I was thinking.

In short, I was inspired.

I WANTED desperately to believe in this country again.

I want to believe that this country isn’t just a collection of techno-idiots, sitting at home, watching television, playing their video games and smoking pot, letting the rest of the country take care of them.

I want to believe that whatever you wish to achieve is RIGHT above your head, if you can find the will and discipline to build the ladder to reach it.

I want to believe that our school systems turn out more intelligent students instead of imprinting a false sense of entitlement, having not achieved anything.

I want to believe in the individual counting again.

I want to believe in a government that doesn’t govern what you CAN’T do, but a government that will inspired you to do all you CAN.

“Democrat”, “Republican”, “Liberal”, “Conservative”, these labels mean NOTHING. “American”, THAT’S a label that means something. It’s a label that put a man on the moon. It’s a label that means so much to those who don’t have it, and ironically a label that most simply take for granted.

I am an American, and I want to believe in my country again.

I want to believe that the government cares about the average American, and not the misers who run Comcast, not the useless sitting in mansions sipping on Chateau d’Yquem, not the fascists who insist on the voice of the average American being stifled so that they can buy another car.

I want to believe in a government that will say and back up, without embarrassment or reservation, that the freedoms we were promised 235 years ago will NEVER be compromised, as they have been in the past 10 years.

People make mistakes, and people will work hard to correct those mistakes, but never acknowledging those mistakes will only lead to them being repeated.

The mistake of apathy,

the mistake of ambivalence

the mistake of malice and the mistake of complacency.

These are mistakes we can’t afford anymore. Not if we want to believe.

I call upon lawmakers to cast aside their affiliations of partisanship, and truly commit themselves to making the beliefs of those who dare, a reality again.

I am young.

I am idealistic, in spite of my cynicism.

And this is what I want.

This is what I want to believe.

Don’t you?

Leave a Reply

